Before, I knew God had a calling for me, a plan. If I so chose to follow that path, it would lead to joy and peace. Not that this path would be easier, not that I wouldn’t stumble or experience hardship, but the knowledge that I could accomplish all these things through the strength of God would ease those difficulties immensely. I knew God was already working in my life.

During, even though I had taken a deep breath, I felt my life leaving me. I felt like I was dying. Those couple seconds felt like an eternity. An eternity of death. This is what would have happened to me if I had continued to live without God. Forever held under, forever suffering. Forever dying.

As I surfaced from the deep, or so it felt, I couldn’t help but smile. A huge smile. I was alive! I had died, but now I am alive, and if I continue with God, I will be forevermore.

For those who may be wondering if I’ve gone completely bananas, don’t worry. I have. This past Sunday, I was baptized for the first time. [I was dedicated as an infant, which means my parents were promising to raise me as a Christian. Baptism is a choice people consciously make for themselves. Or at least it should be.]

I find myself asking myself a question: Why did I wait so long to get baptized? In the New Testament, when people started following Jesus, they were baptized as soon as possible. [Read the book of Acts for reference.] I waited eight years. Why?

When I was younger, baptism scared me. The thought of someone holding me under water for an undetermined amount of time … And the someone being a man I didn’t really know or trust … I had many issues as a child. Social anxieties and the like.

As I got older, I didn’t really think of baptism. Also, I didn’t see or hear about it happening in churches, except for babies having water trickled over their heads. I knew about submersion baptism, but it was never brought up.

A few years ago, my mom was baptized. I didn’t think anything of it beforehand, but after, I wanted to be baptized as well. It just took a while because sometimes life gets in the way, I’m ashamed to say.

I am amazed how much my life has changed now that I am putting God first in my life and letting Him take me to where I am needed. Even last year, I would have never thought of going to seminary. [Which I still need prayer for. I’m in need of God’s guidance.]

You don’t have to tell me, this is just to make you think: Where does God want to take you?

Love you all, and may God bless you in all that you do.

About kayquie

I'm random, quirky, just a touch sarcastic, and a geek. I make crocheted animals/creatures/monsters, mostly of my own design. I don't really know what else to put here. I'll probably write more about myself in the blog. This is like a relationship: you can't get to know everything about me in just one sitting! :P

Comments are closed.