One of the local morning news programs has moments of trivia, and questions about songs and stuff like that. Recently they’ve been asking who is the artist for certain one-hit wonder songs. Thursday [yup, that wonderful day] the song was “Blue (Da Ba Dee)”. So of course I had to look up the music video, because when I was nine I *loved* that song.

It got me thinking, as I watched the video, about the nineties. There are some things I miss, like the random clothing styles and bleaching your hair for no reason other than the fact that you want it almost white [frosted tips, anyone?]. And there are some things I don’t miss, like being a misfit child. Anyway, I thought I’d take a look at some pivotal moments of the nineties, at least for me, and share them with you.

First off, the theme song from my favorite show when I was three. And yes, I used to have the entire theme memorized, and I’d run around singing this song:

Yup. A show about cowboys who were … cows.

And for those of you who have heard about this show from me before, the one I had a crush on [when I was three] was the Marshall, the yellow guy in green.

Another one of my favorite shows as a kid was Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. You know, the one with the theme song that says “TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES, TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES” over and over. Then they decided to change it up and make a movie. A live-action movie. And then they made *more* of them, as if one wasn’t horrifying enough. I never liked them, but I was forced to watch them. I then blocked it from memory. That’s why I’m sharing a clip with you, by the way. Occasional torture is good for the soul. [Off topic, should I make a t-shirt that says “Occasional torture is good for the soul”?] The video gets better toward the end, if by getting better I mean more horrifying. Which I do.

And yes, in case you were wondering, that *is* Vanilla Ice.

Because three video clips is probably horrifying enough, here’s what started me on this blast from the past. Eiffel 65’s “Blue (Da Ba Dee)”. Yes, there’s a lot more that happened during the nineties between the turtles and blue aliens, and maybe I’ll share some of that another day. [I mean, I haven’t even said anything about Mario or Sonic the Hedgehog!]

Feeling blue?

So if you find yourself wondering, what with all the wonderful influences I had as a child, why I’m not more messed up than I am … well, I have no real answer for you.

About kayquie

I'm random, quirky, just a touch sarcastic, and a geek. I make crocheted animals/creatures/monsters, mostly of my own design. I don't really know what else to put here. I'll probably write more about myself in the blog. This is like a relationship: you can't get to know everything about me in just one sitting! :P

4 responses

  1. Nix the T-shirt idea, I know too many people who might take it in a manner entirely unsuited to your thoughts…Th. P. for instance.