Crocheting a Pundle

I sort of ran out of inspiration for a blog post for today, so I thought I’d try something different. I’m going to let you use one of my patterns! For those of you who know how to crochet, this is perfect. For those of you who don’t know how, learn. It’s fun to do, once you get the hang of it.

Before I reveal the pattern, I just want to inform you all that I am left-handed. I crochet differently than right-handers for crocheting monsters. If this doesn’t work for whatever reason, and/or is confusing, please let me know and … well … I really don’t know how I could fix it. Unless you know how it could be fixed. Also, I’m the only one who has used this pattern. I don’t know if you’ll even be able to understand what I’ve written. Again, if you’re confused, let me know. I appreciate constructive criticism!

This is a relatively easy pattern, for me, anyway. It’s simple, that much is true. Simple meaning there aren’t many parts to the creature, like five million limbs and lips and two tails and spikes and teeth and fifty noses. If you are still wondering what pattern I am letting you crochet, it’s a pundle. This is what a pundle looks like:

I have only made it in this color. Oh yeah, I made a striped version, too, but I won’t be including that. If you know how to change color while you crochet, feel free to make a striped pundle. Feel free to use colors of your own choice as well! Go crazy. I’d love to see pictures, too. You can post them on my Facebook wall.

I’m going to ask you to please not sell the pattern or what you make. You can give them as gifts, but please don’t make money off of this without first negotiating a price with me first! [And I’ll ask for a LOT of money.] Someday, when I get the courage to, I would like to sell these, so I don’t really want any competitors, if you catch my drift.

What you’ll need:

  • Yarn [duh] of a medium worsted weight. I use Red Heard yarn [I used Tea Leaf 0624 and Café 0360, specifically, on this pattern], usually the Super Saver stuff. It’s cheap and it doesn’t have dye lots, so it’s easy to match colors. You will need two colors for this, unless you don’t want the eyes and nose to be of a different color than the body. Your call.
  • A crochet hook. Another duh. I use a US F5/3.75mm hook.
  • Fiberfill stuffing. The stuff that makes up a teddy bear’s organs. You won’t need a ton of it for this project.
  • A stitch marker. This is to keep track of where you are, round-wise. I usually place it at the end of the round, so I know where the end of the next round should be. If you don’t have a stitch marker [they can be expensive for just a little piece of plastic!], you can use a paper clip.
  • A yarn needle
  • Scissors
  • I think that’s it.

Abbreviations:

  • Ch = Chain
  • sc = single crochet
  • st = stitch
  • sc2tog = single crochet two together
  • slst = slip stitch

If I forget to translate another abbreviation and you’re confused, let me know and I’ll fix it. If you don’t know how to do any of these, Google is an amazing tool.

I work in rounds, using a stitch marker, as I stated above. I don’t join at the end of each row. Gauge is not important for this pattern [if you are confused as to what “gauge” is, don’t worry about it. It’s not important. For this pattern.].

I am going to call everything I did in Tea Leaf “Color A”, and everything I did in Café “Color B”.

Don’t let this frustrate you. That’s not my intent. Crocheting is *fun*. Repeat that saying as you want to pummel something. Smile with tongue out

Before you start crocheting, cut 4-5” [it doesn’t have to be an exact measurement] of Color A for the antennae. Set it aside. You won’t need that for a little while. Don’t lose it, though.

*Body* [In Color A]

Ch 2

  1. In second ch from hook, work in 8 sc. I like to put a stitch marker in the first sc so I can find it easier, then I put it in the 8th one so I know where the end is. But that’s just me.
  2. 2 sc in each st, around – 16 st [Oh yeah. This number at the end is how many stitches you should have in each round when you’re done with the round.]
  3. 2 sc in one st, sc in next st, repeating around – 24 st
  4. 2 sc in one st, sc in next two st, repeating around – 32 st

This is what my work looks like at the end of round 2/start of round 3:

I crochet differently. I told you so. See the paper clip? I’m using that as a stitch marker.

5 – 14. sc in each st around – 32 st. Feel free to write out the numbers and cross them off as you go so you don’t lose track. I do it all the time.

15. sc2tog, repeating around – 16 st. This is where you’ll need that 4-5” of yarn you set aside. I wanted to show you what I did, so I only finished row 6 so you could see it better.

I pull out my loop with my hook, just a couple inches

and I tie a bow

then I tie another bow, so it doesn’t slip out and destroy all my hard work

I thread my yarn needle, stab the pundle in the top of the head, and tie a knot an inch or so down so it doesn’t go all the way through

On the opposite side, I pull the needle through, tying a knot tight against the head so it stays in place

I then trim the antennae to approximately the same length, about an inch long

Now that your antennae are done, using Color B, stitch in the eyes. I don’t know the technical term for that, but here’s a picture of my first pundle’s eyes:

Stuff what you have of the body mostly full. If it’s too full, it’ll make crocheting difficult because you’ll pull stuffing through your crochet work.

16. sc2tog, repeating around – 8 st. Stuff some more.

17. sc2tog, repeating around – 4 st. If it needs more stuffing, try to force more in. If not, slst, fasten off, and stitch closed. You finished the body!!

*Nose* [In Color B]

Ch 2

  1. In second ch from hook, work in 8 sc.
  2. 2 sc in two st, sc in two st, repeat around – 12 st
  3. 2 sc in four st, sc in two st, repeat around – 20 st

Slst, fasten off, and attach. While attaching, stuff the nose. You’re done with the nose!! You’re almost done!

*Foot* [Make 2] [In Color A]

Ch 2

  1. In second ch from hook, work in 8 sc.
  2. 2 sc in one st, sc in next st, repeat around – 12 st
  3. 2 sc in one st, sc in next two st, repeat around – 16 st
  4. sc in each st around.

Slst, fasten off, stuff, and attach.

*Arm* [Make 2] [In Color A]

Ch 2

1. In second ch from hook, work in 6 sc.

2 – 12. sc in each st around

Slst, fasten off, and attach. NO stuffing here!

*Tail* [In Color A]

Ch 2. In second ch from hook, work in 6 sc. Slst, fasten off, and attach. NO stuffing here either.

About where the tail should go. The tail is right next to my index finger

AND YOU ARE DONE!!

Let me tell you, I think this is the most work I’ve ever done for a blog post.

Not necessarily creating the pattern, but *finding* the pattern. I almost thought I wasn’t going to, but I did. I think this is a sign that I need to not only clean, but *organize*. Not a fun word for me.

So, to repeat what I said at the beginning, because I’ve almost forgotten what I’ve written, if something doesn’t work or is confusing, let me know. I appreciate the feedback. *And* I want to see your work on my Facebook wall!!

3 responses

  1. Brenna says:

    Yaaaayy, YARN!!!!! 😀 I love your Puddle K, but I think my horsey is better….Then again, I AM slightly biased! 😉

    • kayquie says:

      Goof, it’s a puNdle, not a puDdle! I have a rhyme about pundles, that I am going to share. Pundles like ponds and pundles like puddles, but what they love most is lots of cuddles. ❤