Recently, I’ve become an entrepreneur. [Of course I spelled it wrong the first time… pesky Rs….] I got it into my head a year or so ago [… was it only that? It feels like it’s been longer], but I lacked emotional support from a certain person who meant the world to me, who wondered about the practicality of my items and other such things like that. I wanted to sell my monstras, my crocheted creations [Which have no practicality in a practical sense. They are full of imagination and creativity, uniqueness and love. They don’t need a “meaning”.]. I started looking into Etsy, and fell in love with the site instantly. Still, I waited. Mom and Dad thought I should sell my stuff. In fact, any time I make *anything* Mom thinks I should sell it. [This week I’ve crocheted a daisy and I crocheted a cardigan {with felt elbow patches of course} and tie for my Timmy the ThinkGeek Monkey, all of which Mom thinks I could sell.]

I’m finally starting to feel like I’m able to do the things I’ve always wanted to try that I wasn’t “able” to do because I always had someone holding me back: like cut my hair really short; pursue an interest in hunting; and open my own Etsy shop, selling my creations.

Some people, myself included for awhile, thought I should call my store “Kate’s Creations”. Then, I was struck with inspiration. I call my one cat Moozka, for short “Moo” and sometimes that evolves into “Boo”. I don’t know what she thinks of this. Maybe she likes it. Maybe she doesn’t. Maybe sometimes she does, and sometimes she doesn’t. [She is a cat, after all.] Then I started calling my monsters “monstras”, sort of a play on British spellings of words that end in [in America, anyway] –er. Like “theater” is “theatre”. I always want to pronounce it “thee-ah-TRA”. Get it?

The store name “Moo’s Monstras” was born.

Last week, I finally took the plunge. I opened the store, ordered the shipping boxes from USPS, playing on Photoshop to make my store banner, and started doing lots and lots of reading on Etsy. Oh yeah, and crocheting monsters to sell.

I waited until my boxes came so if people ordered right away I wouldn’t have to say to them: Sorry, you’re going to have to wait another week for me to ship your item. I got my boxes Wednesday. I posted my items for sale yesterday.

I’m hoping I don’t fail.

So… interested in seeing my store? There’s the link. If something sells out, don’t worry, I’ll make more. Smile

Also, for further reference, I added a new thing [technical term, that] at the top of the page that has links to my Zazzle store [to buy Learning After College stuff] and to my Etsy store [Moo’s Monstras]. Enjoy!

About kayquie

I'm random, quirky, just a touch sarcastic, and a geek. I make crocheted animals/creatures/monsters, mostly of my own design. I don't really know what else to put here. I'll probably write more about myself in the blog. This is like a relationship: you can't get to know everything about me in just one sitting! :P

2 responses

  1. Fabulous store! I love your banner! I’m excited to see you fill it up with more wonderful goodies!

    LOVE this! So cute: http://www.etsy.com/listing/84276683/crochet-digger-monster