I’ve been feeling a bit down of late. I started to wonder, question, doubt, etc., if I was really where God was wanting me to be. To become a pastor, in the United Methodist Church, anyway, one must go through a candidacy process. [I don’t know the processes in other churches.]

Part of this candidacy process is psychological counseling. I know, this shouldn’t bother me. I mean, I have a Bachelor of Science in Psychology with a minor in counseling. It should be a piece of cake, right? But, what if they find me unsuitable to be a pastor? What if, once I’ve been measured, I’m found wanting? If I don’t pass the counseling, I won’t go on to become a pastor. That door will be closed.

All of these thoughts [and more] were swirling through my head. Then I heard a song, the lyrics going like this:

“Don’t be the one who gets in your own way. Don’t be the one to stop you, there might not be another day. If you fix your eyes on Me, I know it won’t be easy, but I’ll bring you joy amidst the drudgery.”

Wait a minute. I know those words. That’s the chorus of a song I’m writing. I knew when I first wrote those words on paper, God would use those words for His purpose, encouraging people. I just didn’t realize it would be me.

Now I know I can’t take credit for those words I wrote. And I’m okay with that.

About kayquie

I'm random, quirky, just a touch sarcastic, and a geek. I make crocheted animals/creatures/monsters, mostly of my own design. I don't really know what else to put here. I'll probably write more about myself in the blog. This is like a relationship: you can't get to know everything about me in just one sitting! :P

Comments are closed.