We live in a world where “truth” is what you make it to be. There are things that we deem okay because we want them to be okay.

This even applies, now, to murder.

I read an article the other day that made me cry. Honestly, I cried. I view myself as a normal person who doesn’t like to cry in front of other people, but over this, I just can’t help myself. It’s just … Let me tell you.

[Please note, I am just a blogger. I am not very informed about every single topic. Most topics, really. So do your own research, come up with your own conclusions, and share with me. You don’t have to have the same opinions as me. You have a right to your own. It just means more if you can back it up with information that you found, not that someone shoved down your throat.]

According to “expert” ethicists, newborn babies are not people, and therefore can be aborted.

I don’t want to get into a debate about during-pregnancy abortions. That’s not what’s bothering me right now. What gets me is that they see no difference between a fetus and a newborn baby. They say a newborn baby has no personality, so therefore it’s not a person. There’s potential for human life, but it isn’t one yet. That’s why it’s not murder.

I think of Sister’s kids: my niece Bugg and the unborn Sprout. I remember when Sister was pregnant with Bugg, and when the nurses would place the baby monitor on Sister’s belly, Bugg would start to kick the monitor [making it impossible to hear her heartbeat]. They’d move the monitor, and Bugg would follow. I remember what Bugg was like as a newborn. She showed just as much personality then as she does now at the age of 2. I love hearing about how much energy Sprout has, who’s always kicking in Sister’s tummy and makes her have to pee [Sprout is due around the end of April/beginning of May]. I look forward to the day I get to meet Sprout, and to one day see Sprout running around with Bugg. [Sister is going to have a very busy house. :)]

And I cry to think that people don’t view these innocent people as worth anything. They say that if a child is an unnecessary burden on the family, for example if they have Down Syndrome, then it’s okay to terminate them after they’ve been born because, according to them, people with Down Syndrome aren’t really happy. I have a friend who has a baby girl who just happens to have Down Syndrome. But I don’t see the baby girl as a “Down Syndrome baby.” I see a little girl learning new things every day, who’s loved by her family immensely, and brings so much joy into this world, asall babies are. She’s a person, and that is how she should be viewed.

It reminds me of Hitler. He didn’t view a lot of people as “people,” so he had them killed. There was a war to stop him. It was viewed as unacceptable, the atrocities he committed. And yet we do nothing today to stop people who think similar thoughts, one life being worth more than another.

It scares me that “murder” and “person” now have multiple meanings. I just keep thinking, “Don’t take it personally if I ‘murder’ you, it’s just that I don’t see you as a ‘person.’ It’s my definition that matters.”

I encourage you to do your own research on this topic. Look it up for yourself, don’t just take my word for it. Make your own opinions.

About kayquie

I'm random, quirky, just a touch sarcastic, and a geek. I make crocheted animals/creatures/monsters, mostly of my own design. I don't really know what else to put here. I'll probably write more about myself in the blog. This is like a relationship: you can't get to know everything about me in just one sitting! :P

Comments are closed.