When I was a kid, I took things very seriously. [You may or may not remember this post…]

Our church’s White Elephant was something I took very, very seriously.

I remember not really understanding the whole concept of White Elephant. I remember thinking the name was pretty strange as well. There were no elephants. I wanted a white elephant toy, but there weren’t any. I was always disappointed that there were no white elephants – I always imagined the pink-spotted white elephant from Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer.

Regardless, I still had fun. One year, I got a ceramic bell [I still have it].

Another year [this may have been before or after the bell; I don’t remember], I got a squash. An actual vegetable that someone had grown in their garden.

I loved that squash more than I loved the bell. I played with that squash, I even named that squash. [And this was before I knew about Veggie Tales!] [And no, I don’t remember what I named it. It might have been Harold.] I loved that squash until it started to grow hair and Mom found an excuse to have the squash go away forever.

I mourned the loss of that squash. He meant the world to me. He was the best toy I ever got from a White Elephant exchange.

About kayquie

I'm random, quirky, just a touch sarcastic, and a geek. I make crocheted animals/creatures/monsters, mostly of my own design. I don't really know what else to put here. I'll probably write more about myself in the blog. This is like a relationship: you can't get to know everything about me in just one sitting! :P

2 responses

  1. Brenna says:

    First off, I LOVE that pink-spotted elephant too! Secondly, you have a unique habit of naming all your beloved things with old-fashioned, comfy names. And I like them. Especially Edth. I think I might name my daughter Edth. ^_^ Love you, and miss you, Sista!