I like to cook, which is good because I like to eat. I really like cooking for my family, but because I’m planning on moving out sometime in the future, I’m finding recipes for meals for one person.

A few months or so ago, I found a great recipe for baked macaroni and cheese for one. I was impatient, though, so I decided not to bake it. I also revised the recipe some to my tastes. I haven’t tried to eat Kraft macaroni since. I’ve had baked macaroni from Stouffer’s, but I added onion powder and Worcestershire sauce to make it better. My future children are going to be so spoiled.

So here’s the ingredients:

-1 cup of uncooked noodles [I like the radiatori noodles best. Rotini are okay, too.]
-2 TBSP butter
-2 TBSP flour
-1 cup milk
-1/4 tsp onion powder
-ground pepper to taste
-2/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese [fresh works best, but frozen’s okay]
-2 dashes Worcestershire sauce
I cook the noodles according to their directions [about 10 minutes]. I then drain the noodles and put them in a bowl.
In the same pot as I cooked the noodles, I melt the butter on medium heat. I add the flour, the onion powder, the pepper, and the milk. I stir it until the flour’s not very lumpy [it varies each time, depending on the pan I’m using]. Then I stir it for 2 minutes [or so, depending on how quickly it becomes thick. It’s sort of a feel-thing for me.]. Then I turn the heat to low, adding the cheese and the Worcestershire sauce. I stir it until it becomes saucy. Then I add the noodles and coat the noodles with the sauce. I let it sit for a minute or two, to warm the noodles a bit. If the sauce seems a bit runny [or if I feel like it], I’ll add some Progresso bread crumbs [I don’t measure it, I just add what seems appropriate].

And there you have it, I hope. ^_^

Then, it happened.

I ran out of cheddar cheese.

D:

Come back Thursday for the conclusion of my harrowing tale.

About kayquie

I'm random, quirky, just a touch sarcastic, and a geek. I make crocheted animals/creatures/monsters, mostly of my own design. I don't really know what else to put here. I'll probably write more about myself in the blog. This is like a relationship: you can't get to know everything about me in just one sitting! :P

Comments are closed.