I wrote on Tuesday how I make delicious macaroni and cheese for one [I’m working on a family-sized recipe, at the urging of Mom and Dad. For some reason, they like to be fed once in a while ;)].

And then I ran out of a key ingredient: cheddar cheese.

So I did something Mom is known for in the tri-county area [just kidding]: substituting ingredients.

I used Parmesan cheese instead of cheddar cheese, and I ended up with an Alfredo sauce.

And it is delicious. I like it better than my macaroni recipe. [This is saying something, because I love my macaroni. I love my macaroni more than anyone has ever loved macaroni. We had a beautiful love story going, until I met Alfredo.]

This is going to look slightly familiar to the macaroni recipe, because they are related. [It confuses the love story some.]

Here we go:

-1 cup of uncooked noodles [I like the radiatori noodles best. Rotini are okay, too.]
-2 TBSP butter
-2 TBSP flour
-1 cup milk
-1/4 tsp onion powder
-1/4 tsp granulated garlic
-ground pepper to taste
-2/3 cup Parmesan cheese [fresh works best, but frozen’s okay]
-1 dash Worcestershire sauce
I cook the noodles according to their directions [about 10 minutes]. I then drain the noodles and put them in a bowl.
In the same pot as I cooked the noodles, I melt the butter on medium heat. I add the flour, the onion powder, the garlic, the pepper, and the milk. I whisk it with a spoon until it’s mostly smooth [it varies each time, depending on the pan I’m using]. Then I cook it, stirring the entire time, for 2 minutes [or so, depending on how quickly it becomes thick. It’s sort of a feel-thing for me.]. Then I turn the heat to LOW, adding the cheese and the Worcestershire sauce. I stir it until it becomes saucy. Then I add the noodles and coat the noodles with the sauce. I let it sit for a minute or two, to warm the noodles a bit.

And that’s about it, I think. I’ve already got a family-size recipe for this one, because Mom insisted upon it. She says it’s restaurant quality or better. Dad calls it “Macaroni for adults.” I’ll get it posted sometime soon.

About kayquie

I'm random, quirky, just a touch sarcastic, and a geek. I make crocheted animals/creatures/monsters, mostly of my own design. I don't really know what else to put here. I'll probably write more about myself in the blog. This is like a relationship: you can't get to know everything about me in just one sitting! :P

Comments are closed.