I’m feeling a little overwhelmed by work right now – in the sense that I don’t have a job, but I feel I desperately need one. Society puts so much pressure on people to have at least one job, that our lives aren’t worth anything without a job. I know I need money to buy things like food and clothing and fun stuff, which comes from having a job.

It doesn’t help that when I apply for a job near where I live, which is grocery stores and other places like that, they wonder why I’m applying there when I have a Bachelor of Science degree. I’m over-qualified. Then a job where I could put my Bachelor degree to some use says I need 3-5 years of experience to land the job. Where do I get the experience? Not that I’m trying to pursue a career in psychology, anyway, since I’m looking at going for a Master’s of Divinity to become a pastor.

And it’s not like I’m just sitting here wasting away [mostly]. I’ve been helping Dad’s mom take care of the family cabin, for which she pays me [I did try to do it pro bono, but she wouldn’t let me]. I’ve been occasionally babysitting for a family [we attend the same church]. I’ve been getting orders from people for my Monstras. It’s just that I need a “regular” job, one that looks more reputable on a resumé.

And then I remember what Jesus says in the book of Matthew 6: 25-34

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

I realize that, yet again, I’m letting the cares of the world drag me down. I’ve stopped watching God and letting Him be the one to worry. I’ve been trying to take that burden on all by myself.

I need to let go of my worries, free my hands, and open them for God, raising them up in praise.

About kayquie

I'm random, quirky, just a touch sarcastic, and a geek. I make crocheted animals/creatures/monsters, mostly of my own design. I don't really know what else to put here. I'll probably write more about myself in the blog. This is like a relationship: you can't get to know everything about me in just one sitting! :P

Comments are closed.