My sister-friend B and I have a tendency to go on random, spur-of-the-moment adventures. In May, B and I went on a mini-road trip to a beach two hours away just because we could.

Last weekend, another adventure occurred. It was more adventurous than our previous adventure.

We were invited by our friend S to go with him and his two friends M and I to go to S’s grandma’s house on the lake about 15 minutes away. We didn’t say yes right away, but we didn’t say an outright no either.

The small town in which we reside has a festival of sorts called “Hay Days”. Surprisingly enough, this small town is surrounded by lots and lots of hay fields.

B’s plan was to go to the horse pull, but it wasn’t for a while. So we wandered the town. We wandered to the gas station, we wandered to her place of residence, we wandered to the library, we wandered back to her place of residence, and decided that it was too hot and muggy outside.

I kept thinking of the nice, clean, blue water of the lake.

I voiced my thoughts.

We made our way to the beach.

We managed not to get lost, which is a huge success.

I was almost instantly wading in the water, because I’d left my swimsuit because B doesn’t have one, and I didn’t want to abandon her while I frolicked. After wading, we climbed some large rocks by the edge of the water and sat on them. I really enjoyed the view, and I’m not just talking about the landscape. 😉

Then I decided to ride S’s grandma’s Seadoo with S driving. He’s like a brother to me; we’ve known each other since we were kids.

It was my first time riding a jet ski. Yes, I’ve been exposed to them. My family has a cabin on the water. It’s just that I’d never really been that adventurous. Until recently. When S hit the throttle, my first instinct was to hug.

“I HOPE YOU DON’T MIND!” I yelled.

“I won’t tell my girlfriend,” he replied.

“IT’S NOT LIKE THAT,” I shouted. “IT’S PURELY FOR SURVIVAL!”

“Kay, I don’t have a girlfriend!” S laughed.

… “OH!” … [Insert awkward silence here, if silence on a speeding jet ski is possible.]

So we went about three miles east along the shore, and then

the engine died.

Yep. There we were, stranded in the middle of the sea a few dozen feet from shore, a few miles from the dock, with a dead Seadoo.

We let the engine cool for a bit, then tried to head back, but the engine wouldn’t stay running. We were getting ready to swim to shore to ask for help, but S decided to try something.

Luckily it worked.

We could keep the engine running if we didn’t try going more than five miles per hour.

I saw a lot of pretty houses that I didn’t get to see on the way out on account of how fast we were moving. I also was bitten twice on my middle toe by a deer fly.

Let me put this in perspective for you: people are amazed at how poorly I react to mosquito bites. People are horrified to see how severely I react to deer fly bites. My foot swelled to such a size that I couldn’t move my toes and I could barely wear my flip flop. If I hadn’t known better, I would have thought my foot was severely injured [sprained at least] from the amount of swelling.

This isn’t even the worst of the swelling

The guys B and I were with were amazed that all it took was one deer fly to do such damage. My foot was puffy for more than 24 hours.

It still a lot of fun, and I want to go again. Just … with a little less engine problems and no deer flies.

About kayquie

I'm random, quirky, just a touch sarcastic, and a geek. I make crocheted animals/creatures/monsters, mostly of my own design. I don't really know what else to put here. I'll probably write more about myself in the blog. This is like a relationship: you can't get to know everything about me in just one sitting! :P

Comments are closed.